Selena Gomez “Fetish” Song Review

Hello, I’m MusiCommentator, and I did a small website redesign.  By that, I pretty much mean that I changed some colors and put some words in different spots.  Nothing special at all, really.  It’s just more for efficiency.  Also, I just set up a new Twitter and Instagram accounts.  Check out my Instagram  @carter_sheehan_  and my Twitter  @Carter_Sheehan_  (I know, creative names) and be sure to follow me over there, too.  But, enough talking about me, let’s get to me talking about the review.

So, after reviewing the Louis Tomlinson’s song “Back To You“, I am ready to listen to a good pop song.  I know lots of people say that pop music is dead and there are no good songs anymore, but I defy that statement.  There are plenty of good songs still, even in the pop-o-sphere.  I reviewed Bruno Mars’s  “That’s What I Like”  and Kesha’s  “Praying”  and I gave both of those a four out of five scores or higher.  However, I would like to try to review another good pop song, so let us see if we can find one.  Selena Gomez came out with a new song recently, so I bet we can tell if that is good or not.

Selena Gomez is an actor/singer who became famous from her role on the Disney show “Wizards Of Waverly Place”.  I liked this show a lot as a kid and may or may not have had a crush on her.  After this show ended, she faded from the spotlight for a bit.  But, she took that spotlight back when she released her debut, solo album (no longer performing with the ingeniously named band “The Scene”) “Revival”.  It brought her name back to the mainstream, but I was not a fan of it.  Who am I to say, though, because I never listened to the entire thing, but I did not like the singles I heard from it.  Her voice was too high, airy, and processed for me to like it, and all of the songs were so quiet and low-key that you could fall asleep to them.  Plus, the subject matter on most of them was sex, which can be fine for some songs, but doing it too much makes your music bland.

However, I’m going to give her the benefit of the doubt here.  I really do not think I should, but I am going to give her new song “Fetish” (featuring Gucci Mane) a try.  We start off with the first verse.

Take it or leave it
Baby take it or leave it
But I know you won’t leave it
‘Cause I know that you need it
Look in the mirror
When I look in the mirror
Baby I see it clearer
Why you wanna be nearer

First off, I would like to talk about her flow here.  The first time I heard this song, she sounded incredibly offbeat.  The beat, at this part of the song, is just a consistent, ambient sound, so her words feel like they do not belong.  I can somewhat hear the beat now that I have listened to it a few more times, but it still feels astonishingly awkward and off tempo.

Also, the lyrics here are pretty…interesting, to say the least.  She is talking about how some boy wants to be near her because he likes her a lot in a sexual way.  However, those last couple lines kind of threw me off guard.  She says that she could see why he wants to be near her when she looks at herself.  That is so offhandedly narcissistic that it’s hilarious.  She’s using this boy’s weird obsession with her just to stroke her own ego.  I will give this verse points for originality, though, because I do not think I have heard anything like that before in a sex song.

The pre-chorus is not much to talk about (besides for the fact that she slightly sounds like Katy Perry at some of the parts and her voice is awfully breathy), so let’s skip to the chorus.

You got a fetish for my love
I push you out and you come right back
Don’t see a point in blaming you
If I were you, I’d do me too
You got a fetish for my love
I push you out and you come right back
Don’t see a point in blaming you
If I were you, I’d do me too
You got a fetish for my love

The beat kicks up a little here and makes everything feel more on tempo, but these lyrics are insane.  Like, who has ever said in the history of ever “If I were you, I’d do me too”.  Well, maybe Kanye West has said that, but that is not the point.  That is just so laughably egotistical that I cannot take it seriously.  You can tell she is trying to be serious, too, with her tone of voice, but lines like that do not help this song out at all.

Reaching your limit
Say you’re reaching your limit
Going over your limit
But I know you can’t quit it
Something about me
Got you hooked on my body
Take you over and under and twisted up like origami

You know, this guy Selena is talking about seems kind of creepy.  By the way she has described him so far, he appears to be a nymphomaniac, and not a cool or smooth one like Barney Stinson on “How I Met Your Mother”, either.  This mystery man feels more like that nymphomaniac on the neighborhood you tell your kids to stay away from.  Miss Gomez over here does not seem to mind, though, because she is probably as much as a nympho as he is, too.  Also, her voice here is not good.  More specifically in the last couple of lines, she becomes so breathy that it feels more like she is trying to moan than to sing.

This is becoming too sexual for my liking, so let’s just move on to Gucci Mane’s verse.  I do not expect him to be any cleaner, but I do not want to talk about Selena’s sensually conceited lyrics any more, so let us just move on.

The way you walk, the way you talk
I blame you ’cause it’s all your fault
You’re playin’ hard, don’t turn me off
You actin’ hard, but I know you soft

I have never really been a fan of Gucci Mane at all because he is just a basic trap rapper.  He does not mumble, which is nice, but his lyrics are pretty basic.  I am not saying that I would put him on a worst of all time list, but I am not going out of my way to hear a new song by him.  However, this first part of his verse on here is not too bad.  Unlike Selena, there are no ironically funny, narcissistic lyrics, and he does a good job at setting up his attraction for her.  Saying his liking for her is “all her fault” is a bit brash, but I understand where he is coming from.

You my fetish, I’m so with it
All these rumors bein’ spreaded
Might as well go ‘head and whip it
‘Cause they sayin’ we already did it
Call on Gucci if you ever need me
I’ll be South Beach in the drop top gleamin’
Water diamonds, Aquafina
Just need you in a blue bikini

This is where Gucci starts tripping up on the lyrics.  We can only assume that, in the context of the song, Mr. Mane is crushing on Selena, and she described his love for her as almost inseparable.  But, Gucci Mane is acting a lot more flippant about it.  He is just saying “Oh, I mean, people said we had sex, so we might as well actually do it, right?”  Firstly, that is not the greatest way to get a lady into bed, and second, that really does not portray the “fetish” he is supposed to be having for her.  Even if he is not referring to Selena, he is still the one with a fetish, so these lines do not really work.  Also, I would like to address the line “Water diamonds, Aquafina/Just need you in a blue bikini”.  I mean, it was obvious that Gucci was going to go off at one point and just brag about his riches instead of staying on track, but…you know water is not blue, right?  It is obvious that these two lines go together, but he is making the (thinly drawn) comparison to Aquafina water being the same color as her blue bikini, but water is clear.  Sure, the Aquafina label is blue, but he says “Water diamonds” before that, so he is not talking about the label.  But, what should I have expected from Gucci Mane.

Frankly, I do not know what I expected out of this entire song.  I do not really like Selena Gomez or Gucci Mane’s music, so I do not know why I was thinking this song could have been partially good, especially with a name like “Fetish”.  Selena felt off tempo for at least a quarter of the song, and her voice was even more breathy and airy than I have heard it before.  Her lyrics would be borderline decent if she just stuck to him saying how much he sexually liked her, but she had to throw in some compliments to herself about how hot she was, taking away from the mood.  Gucci Mane did not do anything to help the song either, and he did not even sound like he was trying.  He probably just wanted to get his money and go.  I would not blame him.

Gosh, this is such a terrible song.  In fact, I would say it is even worse than “Back To You”.  At least in that song, Bebe had a good voice and, even though the lyrics were all cliché, it sounded like they were trying to make it a good song.  Selena did none of that.  Even the beat on “Fetish” is worse.  The “Back To You” beat was attempting to be catchy.  This one just sounds like they put in some ambient synth chords and threw random drums over it.  There are barely any redeemable qualities about this song, and I am not planning on going back to it.

Overall, I would give it a 1 out of 5.  Do you agree?

Thank you for reading my “Fetish” song review. If you liked this review, make sure to follow my website, Twitter, and Instagram, like this post, and be sure to check in to read my future reviews. Also, if you have something you want to see me review, tell me in the comments. Until then, keep on listening to good music and tune into the Syfy channel to catch Shark Week (I’m not endorsed, I just really love cheesy shark movies)! I know I will.

 

 

 

3 thoughts on “Selena Gomez “Fetish” Song Review

  1. I was a little nervous going into this review, I wondered what you were going to give it lol, I agree so much gosh man this was a tough one to digest, I expected better of Selena, let’s hope she can follow up with something better

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

